ZIVVER WebApp - Users manual

Introduction

With ZIVVER you securely share information with colleagues, customers, patients, relations and other recipients. If you send a message securely, only you and the recipient (s) can read that message. You can securely mail from your web browser, from a tablet or mobile phone from Outlook. This user manual focuses on the use of ZIVVER WebApp.

In this user manual you can read:

  • How to log in to ZIVVER.
  • How to send ZIVVER messages.
  • How to protect your messages with a recipient check.
  • How to revoke a message afterwards.
  • How to recover a message.

Log in

To mail securely, log in to your online secure mailbox, using your web browser, such as Internet Explorer or Google Chrome.

  1. Go to WebApp.
  2. Enter your e-mail address.
  3. Enter your password.
  4. Enter the second authentication factor.
Do you not want to enter the second factor authentication every time? Then check the option Trust this device and skip the extra login step the next time I log in.
Does your organization use ZIVVER? You can log in with your workplace credentials. You will then be directed to a log-in page for your organization after you have entered your e-mail address.

You are now logged in to ZIVVER and are ready to read and send secure messages.

Secure account with an additional authentication method (2FA)

Secure your account with an additional login method. You then use a login code during login. You will receive a login code by text message or in an Authenticator App. You can currently only set up an additional login method in ZIVVER WebApp.

Read how to set up an additional login method with an SMS code
Read how to set up an additional login method with the Google Chrome Authenticator
Read how to set up an additional login method with an Authenticator app

Send ZIVVER message

Make sure you are logged in with your ZIVVER account to send a secure message.

  1. Click the create a new message create icon.
  2. Add the desired recipients.
    If you are sending a ZIVVER message for the first time to the receiving e-mail address, you will be asked to choose a verification method.
  3. Set the recipients verification method and send the message.
    Recipient verification ensures that only the correct recipients have access to your message.
    Read more about the different verification methods
  4. Solve or dismiss any issues which may be highlighted.
  5. Press Send
Rich text and images are not supported when composing messages with Internet Explorer 11 or the Edge browser.

Security notifications

ZIVVER uses safety notifications to inform you when a certain rule is activated. Which rules are active depends on the institutions within your organization. If there is sensitive information in your message, you will receive a notification above the message. The color of the bar can change depending on the set safety level.
Learn more about the different security levels

Safety notifications are only available for business users.

Message revocation

ZIVVER messages can be revoked after sending, either for every participant (including the sender) or just for recipients. Message revocation can be scheduled to occur after a set period, or immediately. Access revocation is designed to fulfill two major functions: - to allow the withdrawal of a message that was sent in error - to allow for situations in which laws or organizational policy require that copies of messages are not kept indefinitely

How to revoke access to a ZIVVER message

To revoke access to a ZIVVER message that you have sent:

  1. Select the message that you want to revoke.
  2. Click the options more_vert icon in the top right corner of the message.
  3. Click remove_circle Revoke Access
    A new window appears, explaining revocation options
  4. Click the toggle toggle_off
    A new window titled Revoke access to message appears
  5. Click RECIPIENTS if you want the message to be removed from recipients’ inboxes.
    OR
    Click EVERYONE if you want the message to be removed from both recipients’ inboxes and your own.

    Choosing EVERYONE will effectively delete the message after the set period passes. Messages deleted in this manner cannot be recovered by any means.
  6. Click LATER if you want the message to be revoked later
    OR
    Click NOW if you want the message to be revoked immediately.

  7. Set a time period using the input box and the drop-down selector. Your organization may or may not have set a default period.
    The scheduled message revocation date displayed changes, in accordance with the time period you choose.

  8. Press SET
    A confirmation pop-up window appears

  9. Press OK to confirm your choices.
    If you have chosen to revoke the message LATER, a light blue banner is displayed above the message header, stating the revocation period
    If you have chosen to revoke the message NOW, a greyed-out banner is displayed above the message header, stating that access to the message was revoked.

    Revoking a message will remove it from the ZIVVER inboxes of all recipients, including those you have added in CC: and BCC:.

Restore access to a ZIVVER message

You can make a revoked message available to the recipients again:

  1. Find the message that you want to restore.
    A banner explaining revocation status is displayed above every ZIVVER message which has been revoked or is scheduled to be revoked.
  2. Click the options more_vert icon in the top right corner of the message, then click remove_circle Revoke Access. OR
    Click EDIT SETTINGS in the revocation banner displayed above the message. A new window appears, showing revocation options that were already set
  3. Click the toggle toggle_on
    _A new window appears, explaining revocation options. The toggle toggleoff displayed in the top left should now be greyed out.
  4. Click SET
    The message Scheduled expiration successfully removed is displayed. You have successfully canceled revocation for this message.
    You have successfully restored the message. The message including attachments can be read by the recipient.

Read receipt

You can view a reading confirmation of each message sent. That way you know who has read your message and who has not. At the bottom right of your sent message you will find the read confirmation.
There are three variations of the icon:

  • A gray, closed envelope email means that the message has not been opened by any of the recipients.
  • A gray, opened envelope drafts means that some of the recipients have opened the message.
  • A blue, opened envelope drafts means that all recipients have opened the message.

Click the envelope to see who has read the message and who has not.

Was this article helpful?

thumb_up thumb_down