Revoke access to a secure ZIVVER message

Introduction

This document explains how to revoke secure messages sent with ZIVVER and how to cancel or modify Revoke Access settings for a message.

Revoking a message will revoke it from the ZIVVER inboxes of all recipients, including those you have added in CC: and BCC:.

Access revocation is designed to fulfill two major functions - to allow the withdrawal of a message that was sent in error. - to allow for situations in which laws or organizational policy require that copies of messages are not kept indefinitely.

ZIVVER secure message revocation can normally be set and re-set at any time. There is one very important exception to this rule - namely, messages which have been revoked for EVERYONE and for which the revocation period has elapsed cannot be recovered by any means.

Prerequisites: The ZIVVER Office Plugin is installed and secure mailing is on.

How set the revocation period when creating a new message

  1. Click New E-mail in the Outlook ribbon.
    A new window appears, with your new message in it.
  2. Add recipients, content and attachments to the message as usual.
  3. Click the Revoke Access history icon.
    A new window appears, explaining revocation options
  4. Click the toggle toggle_off
    A new window titled Revoke access appears
  5. Click RECIPIENTS if you want the message to be removed from recipients’ inboxes.
    OR Click EVERYONE if you want the message to be removed from both recipients’ inboxes and your own.

    Choosing EVERYONE will effectively delete the message after the set period passes. Messages deleted in this manner cannot be recovered by any means.
  6. Set a time period using the input box and the drop-down selector. The default is 30 days, but may be different depending on your organization’s particular settings.
    The scheduled message revocation date displayed changes according to the time period you choose.

  7. Click SAVE
    A confirmation pop-up window appears

  8. Press CONFIRM to confirm your choices.
    You are returned to the message window, and a blue ckeckmark appears next to the revocation history icon. Hover over the revocation icon to see a tooltip explaining when the message will be revoked

  9. Press Send.
    Your message is sent securely with ZIVVER and will be revoked after the time period you have set lapses.
    Recipients of your message will see the time period after which the message will be revoked in a banner above the actual message

How to cancel the Revoke message settings for a message you have already sent

  1. Navigate to your Sent Items folder and click the message you wish to modify.
    Your message is shown in the rightmost pane. A light blue banner is displayed above the message header, stating the revocation period
  2. In the message pane, click EDIT SETTINGS
    A new window titled Revoke access appears
  3. Click the toggle toggle_on in the top left corner
    _The toggle toggleoff is greyed out and a text explaining revocation options appears.
  4. Click SAVE
    A confirmation window appears
  5. Click CONFIRM
    The blue banner stating the revocation period is no longer displayed above the message header. Access to the message will no longer be revoked

How to change the revocation period for a message you have already sent

  1. Navigate to your Sent Items folder and click the message you wish to modify.
    Your message is shown in the rightmost pane. A light blue banner is displayed above the message header, stating the revocation period
  2. In the message pane, click EDIT SETTINGS
    A new window titled Revoke access appears
  3. Set a time period using the input box and the drop-down selector. The ZIVVER default is 30 days, but the actual default period shown may be different, depending on your organization’s particular settings.
    The message revocation date displayed changes according to the time period you choose.
    OR Click NOW if you wish to immediately revoke the message.
    If you click NOW, a notification to the effect that the message will be revoked immediately is displayed
  4. Click SAVE
    A confirmation window appears
  5. Click CONFIRM
    Your message is shown in the rightmost pane.

How to set a revocation period for a ZIVVER secured message you have already sent

  1. Navigate to your Sent Items folder and click the message you wish to modify.
  2. Click More options more_vert
    A menu appears
  3. Click Revoke access history
    A new window appears, explaining revocation options
  4. Click the toggle toggle_off in the top left corner
  5. Click RECIPIENTS if you want the message to be removed from recipients’ inboxes.
    OR Click EVERYONE if you want the message to be removed from both recipients’ inboxes and your own.

    Choosing EVERYONE will effectively delete the message after the set period passes. Messages deleted in this manner cannot be recovered by any means.
  6. Click LATER if you want the message to be revoked after a certain period of time has passed. Set a time period using the input box and the drop-down selector. The ZIVVER default is 30 days, but the actual default period shown may be different, depending on your organization’s particular settings.
    The scheduled message revocation date displayed changes according to the time period you choose.
    OR

  7. Click NOW if you wish to immediately revoke the message.
    If you click NOW, a notification to the effect that the message will be revoked immediately is displayed

  8. Click SAVE
    A confirmation window appears

  9. Click CONFIRM
    Your message is shown in the rightmost pane.
    If you have chosen to revoke the message LATER, a light blue banner is displayed above the message header, stating the revocation period
    If you have chosen to revoke the message NOW, a greyed-out banner is displayed above the message header, stating that access to the message was revoked.

How to restore access to a message you have revoked

Messages revoked for EVERYONE are effectively deleted after the set period passes. Such messages cannot be recovered by any means.
  1. Navigate to your Sent Items folder and click the message you wish to modify.
    Your message is shown in the rightmost pane. A greyed-out banner is displayed above the message header, stating that access to the message was revoked.
  2. In the message pane, click RESET ACCESS
    A confirmation window appears, explaining that the message will become available to recipients again.
  3. Click CONFIRM
    The greyed-out banner stating that access to the message was revoked is no longer displayed above the message header. The message is now accessible to recipients

Was this article helpful?

thumb_up thumb_down