08. Synctool Syncing

Introduction

This section describes how to map your users, change your synchronization options, view the delta between your organization in Zivver and your source, preview the changes that are going to be made and review finished updates. These functions are grouped under the Syncing tab in the Synctool user interface.

User Mapping

Zivver needs to map users from your source to corresponding Zivver accounts, so that any changes are made to the correct accounts. In Zivver, Internal Id is used to identify accounts.

By default users’ email addresses are used as internal identifiers. However, if a user’s email address changes, then this identifier will become incorrect, leading to synchronization errors.

To prevent this, you can configure the Synctool to use a user account property that - unlike the email address - will never change. By using an account property that never changes, there will not occur any synchronization errors when the email address of the user changes for example when a user marries or divorces.

This mapping information is not uploaded to Zivver. Therefore it is necessary to store the user mapping information locally.

Storage location best practice
Best practice is to store the user mapping where you have stored the Synctool. For example, if you have stored the Synctool at C:\Program Files\Zivver.Synctool, then create a folder called User Mapping, so that you can save the user mapping in C:\Program Files\Zivver.Synctool\User Mapping.

Synchronization Options

At Synchronization Options you determine what action the Synctool needs to perform during a synchronization.

Personal accounts sync options

  • Create new users in Zivver
    Creates new user accounts when the source(s) contain new users that haven’t been synchronized to Zivver.
    For example when new employees join your organization.

  • Update existing users in Zivver
    Updates existing users in Zivver with new or changed information.
    For example a change in name, email address, mobile phone number, aliases or delegations.

  • Disable users in Zivver missing in the source
    Disables currently enabled users in Zivver when they are disabled in the source.
    For example when an employee retires from service.

Functional account sync options

  • Create new functional accounts in Zivver
    Creates new functional accounts when the source(s) contain new shared mailboxes that haven’t been synchronized to Zivver.
    For example when you have created a new Exchange shared mailbox.

  • Update existing functional accounts in Zivver
    Updates existing functional accounts in Zivver with new or changed information.
    For example a change in name, email address, aliases or delegations.

  • Disable functional accounts in Zivver missing in the source
    Disables functional accounts in Zivver when they are missing in your source. Disabling functional accounts will delete all active delegations to the functional account.

Delete options for users and functional accounts (only manual sync)

  • Delete all users that are disabled in Zivver
    Deletes all user accounts that are currently disabled in Zivver. Delete options can only be run manually and cannot be scheduled.
Use delete options together!
Use Delete all users that are disabled in Zivver together with Only delete accounts missing (deleted) in sources.

If your organization disables users first for a period of months before deleting them from your source, then combining these two delete options will prevent Zivver users from being deleted while their Active Directory account is not yet deleted.
  • Delete all functional accounts that are disabled in Zivver
    Deletes all functional accounts that are currently disabled in Zivver. Delete options can only be run manually and cannot be scheduled.

  • Only delete accounts missing (deleted) in sources
    Only deletes user accounts and functional accounts if the account is both disabled in Zivver and missing in your sources. This option has to be used together with Delete all users that are disabled in Zivver or Delete all functional accounts that are disabled in Zivver.

View Delta

At View the Delta between Source and Target you view the difference (i.e. delta) between the Target (Zivver) and your source data.

View Delta consists of several tabs that show a table with users or functional accounts that can be changed in Zivver based on information from your source(s).

View the actuall changes
Double-click any row of an account to view the details of the changes, the information the Synctool received from your Zivver organization, and the information the Synctool retreived from your sources.

Click Export Data to export the data from all tabs from the View Delta in to an .xlsx file type.

Click Reload Data if you have modified your source and want to reload the View Delta information.

Preview Changes

The Preview all changes made during the last trial run option shows if the proposed changes would be successful or not.

Preview changes consists of several tabs that show a table with users or functional accounts that were part of the trial run.

View detailed information
Double-click any row of an account to view the details of the trial run.

Click Export Data to export the data from all tabs from the View Delta in to an .xlsx file type.

Click Reload Data if you have modified your source and want to redo the trial run.

Review Updates

At Review all changes made during the last update you can review updates from the last manual synchronization.

Review updates consists of several tabs that show a table with users or functional accounts that were synchronized.

View detailed information
Double-click any row of an account to view the details of the synchronization.

Click Export Data to export the data from all tabs from the View Delta in to an .xlsx file type.

Was this article helpful?

thumb_up thumb_down